Kahlua Chocolate Chip Muffins, It’s What’s for Brunch!

I found a recipe for espresso muffins not too long ago on Yummly.com. I modified it a bit to make it my own, I replaced instant espresso with Kahlua, and was extra generous with the chocolate chips. The result, an awesome (just my humble opinion) recipe for Kahlua Chocolate Chip Muffins.

These have been a big hit in our house. At first, my husband didn’t believe I made them from scratch. (I am not sure if this speaks to the tasty recipe, or the clearly low expectations he has for my kitchen talents, but I’ll take it as a complement, regardless.) This is going to be a staple in my list of Sunday Brunch recipes.

So, here it is, Mary’s Kahlua Chocolate Chip Muffins

(Makes a dozen muffins)

INGREDIENTS

2 cups all-purpose flour (unbleached)

1 (generous) tbsp Mocha Flavored Kahlua

1 tbsp baking powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1 tsp salt

1 cup milk

34 cup light brown sugar (packed)

12 cup unsalted butter (melted)

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

34 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips (divided)

PREPARATION

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Grease muffin cups with non-stick cooking spray or butter.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, add the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, 1/2 of the chocolate chips, and salt; stir to combine.
  4. In another bowl, add the milk, kahlua, brown sugar, melted butter, eggs, and vanilla; whisk until smooth.
  5. Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients; stir just until moistened; do not overmix.
  6. Pour batter evenly into muffin cups.
  7. Sprinkle remaining chocolate chips over each muffin.
  8. Bake at 400 degrees for 20-22 minutes or until pick comes out clean.
  9. Cool on a wire rack before removing from the pan.

This easy recipe gives you a batch of warm, sweet, moist and flavorful muffins. They are the perfect complement to that hot cup of coffee, and Times Crossword, of a chilly Sunday morning.

Enjoy!

About maryct70
Lucky mom of two little ones who keep both me and my husband on our toes. I work for an insurance company, based in Boston MA, and spend many hours on the train, as a consummate commuter. I am a die-hard Red Sox and New England Patriots fan. As a Boston College Alum, I also cheer for my BC Eagles, whether it be football, basketball or hockey.

2 Responses to Kahlua Chocolate Chip Muffins, It’s What’s for Brunch!

  1. Pingback: On Giving Up Chocolate For Lent – What Was I Thinking? « Odds 'N Ends

  2. Pingback: Celebrating My 100th Post « Odds 'N Ends

Leave a Reply

