12 Days of Christmas Countdown – Day 10 – Time to Clean!

The first wave of Holiday Hosting begins this weekend. My cousin is arriving on Friday, and my brother and his boyfriend are coming for a visit on Saturday evening. I am looking forward to seeing all of them. Of course, the only downside to this is that I have to clean the house, or at least straighten it up enough so that it won’t be featured in an episode of “Hoarders.”

This year, our cleaning chores are complicated by the fact that our two-family home is undergoing some serious renovations. We are in the process of moving from the upstairs apartment to the larger downstairs apartment, and are renovating a few rooms, in particular the kitchen. In fact, at the moment, our main kitchen is completely gutted while we await the installation of new cabinets and appliances. (That’s where the visit from the cousin comes in – Thank you Billy!)  Fingers-crossed, the kitchen will be completely functional by the time Christmas arrives.

Kitchen Renovation - During

Who needs a sink or appliances anyway?

While I am as excited as a little girl on Christmas morning (really) at the prospect of a new kitchen, the constant cloud of dust from the ongoing work makes cleaning a challenge. Thankfully, our house guests are family, and won’t be performing any “white-glove” tests while they’re here!

Cleaning Snowmen

Think I could hire these guys or a little light housework?

About maryct70
Lucky mom of two little ones who keep both me and my husband on our toes. I work for an insurance company, based in Boston MA, and spend many hours on the train, as a consummate commuter. I am a die-hard Red Sox and New England Patriots fan. As a Boston College Alum, I also cheer for my BC Eagles, whether it be football, basketball or hockey.

Leave a Reply

