My Contribution to Thanksgiving Dinner- Caribbean Rum Fudge Pie

I am not cooking this year. Well I am making a mini-Thanksgiving Dinner on Wednesday, for the sole purpose of having leftovers. For the first time in several years, we are not hosting on Thursday. We are heading over the river and through the woods to my sister’s house, to have dinner with my small (NOT) family. It’s going to be a great day filled with brothers, sisters and cousins galore.
I will not arrive empty-handed though. I am,p bringing one of the many pies that will adorn the table. This is a pie that my mother started making at least a decade ago, and now, no Turkey Day would be complete without it.
Here is the Very Easy Official recipe:

INGREDIENTS:
1/4 cup butter
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
3 eggs
2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips
2 teaspoons instant coffee granules
1 teaspoon rum flavored extract
1/4 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup chopped walnuts
1/2 cup walnut halves
1 recipe pastry for a 9 inch single crust
pie
DIRECTIONS:
1.Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
2. In a microwave-safe bowl, microwave chocolate chips until melted. Stir occasionally until chocolate is smooth.
3.Cream butter or margarine with sugar. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Add melted chocolate, instant coffee, and rum extract. Stir in flour and broken walnuts. Turn filling into pie shell. Top with walnut halves in decorative pattern.
4.Bake at 375 degrees F for 25 -35 minutes, until you can poke it with a toothpick and it comes out clean.. Cool.
I say “official” recipe, because in our house, there is simply no need for the walnuts. They just detract from the chocolate. My substitute: bittersweet chocolate chunks.
Best served a bit warm, with whipped cream and a glass of milk.

20111123-145751.jpg

About maryct70
Lucky mom of two little ones who keep both me and my husband on our toes. I work for an insurance company, based in Boston MA, and spend many hours on the train, as a consummate commuter. I am a die-hard Red Sox and New England Patriots fan. As a Boston College Alum, I also cheer for my BC Eagles, whether it be football, basketball or hockey.

Leave a Reply

