Sometimes Even Santa Regifts

When my daughter was a baby, my aunt gave me a wooden doll’s cradle and high chair that my cousin had as a young girl. My aunt had kept it in storage all these years, and since my cousin was blessed with three boys, she was kind enough to pass it on to my little girl.

Because my daughter was still too little to play with dolls, and we didn’t have much room for it in the small bedroom she shared with her big brother, we opted to hold onto it for a couple of more years.

Last Christmas was the year. She was 3 1/2, and fully engrossed in playing “Mommy” to all of her dolls. We put the cradle and high chair under the tree with her many gifts. When she bounced downstairs Christmas morning, she made a beeline for the cradle, and began rocking one of her baby dolls back and forth. We had a tough time getting her to open the rest of her gifts!

We did not want to lose sight of the fact that this is a family heirloom, though. In other words, don’t toss these toys around like they just came off the clearance shelf at The Dollar Store. So, we tried to impress upon her the significance of the gift. We told our daughter that this belonged to another girl in our family long ago, and that Santa had kept it safe, knowing that she would take good care of it. She seemed rather impressed with both the gift, and with the fact that Santa was endowing her with such responsibility!

20111121-075749.jpg

Needless to say, she loves that cradle and high hair. She often has 2 or 3 dolls napping in their cradle, while she feeds another a bottle and Cheerios in the high chair. Recently, my daughter graduated to her very own bedroom, and she was thrilled to help me decorate it. The first items to find a home in her room (after her bed and bureau) were her high chair and cradle.

When she is a bit older, and Santa fades away, I will retell the story of her high chair and cradle. I will tell her that Mommy’s cousin cared for it first, and that her Aunt thought that she would take care of it as well. If all goes well, I am sure that Santa will regift it again someday.

Thank You Aunt June, and Lori, for the lovely gift!

About maryct70
Lucky mom of two little ones who keep both me and my husband on our toes. I work for an insurance company, based in Boston MA, and spend many hours on the train, as a consummate commuter. I am a die-hard Red Sox and New England Patriots fan. As a Boston College Alum, I also cheer for my BC Eagles, whether it be football, basketball or hockey.

3 Responses to Sometimes Even Santa Regifts

  1. My kids never gave a hoot about any of these things that have value to us. I have gotten rid or sold off many things already because they have no appreciation for such. The objects are filled with the love and spirit of those who once owned them or made them and that is to be cherished.

  2. Josey says:

    My kids never gave a hoot about any of these things that have value to us. I have gotten rid or sold off many things already because they have no appreciation for such. The objects are filled with the love and spirit of those who once owned them or made them and that is to be cherished.
    +1

  3. We found a very similar cradle and a doll crib in a pile of old stuff in a family attic. It also belonged to an older aunt ( who only had boys). With a little cleaning and paint it looks brand new. Built more sturdy than those today, it has done well despite being piled with dolls and stuffed animals…and a cat or two. One relative frowned and said she shouldn’t play with it as it was an heirloom – but others said it was made to be loved by a child. That was about 20 years ago – and the perfectly fine crib and cradle are safely packed away waiting for the next little girl to discover them under a Christmas tree. Thanks for the lovely story and jogging some memories.

Leave a Reply

