Boy, I Have a Lot of Catching Up to Do!

I started out so well this year. I joined the “Post-A-Week” campaign on WordPress.com, and religiously posted every week, sometimes a few times a week. But sometime between July and August I fell off the wagon, the way a loose object falls off the back of a pickup truck, and then rolls and tumbles into a nearby ditch.

Well, it’s time to pick myself up out of the ditch, dust myself off, and get back to writing. After all, quite a bit has happened over the past couple of months:

  1. We had a hurricane. Her name was Irene. We lost power for 4 days, and were reminding why you should always have plenty of “D” batteries in the house.
  2. Our little boy started First Grade (a week late due to said hurricane). With that has come plenty of adjustments: nightly homework and making of lunches; a new teacher, new classmates, and a full-day school day. “First Grade is sooo long Mom!”
  3. Our daughter started Pre-K. We think she would rather teach the class. For now, she is teaching me Spanish.

    First Day of School - 2011

    First Day of School - 2011

  4. We became a Cub Scout family. Such a wonderful organization, and I am confident it will be great for my son, but so far, it’s been a bit like having a part-time job.

    Cub Scouts

    Always on the Move

  5. Our house is turning upside-down, literally. My husband’s grandfather, who had been living downstairs from us in our two-family home, decided that the time had come to move in with his daughter, my mother-in-law. It was bittersweet, watching him leave the home he’s had for nearly 60 years, but it allows us to move downstairs to the larger of the 2 units, and prepare our current apartment to be rented.  That means Renovations, Renovations, Renovations. Can we say “Sweat Equity”?.

 

Wallpaper Removal

The Best Wallpaper Removers, EVER!

If nothing else, I have plenty of fodder for blog posts, so I guess I should be getting to it!

About maryct70
Lucky mom of two little ones who keep both me and my husband on our toes. I work for an insurance company, based in Boston MA, and spend many hours on the train, as a consummate commuter. I am a die-hard Red Sox and New England Patriots fan. As a Boston College Alum, I also cheer for my BC Eagles, whether it be football, basketball or hockey.

3 Responses to Boy, I Have a Lot of Catching Up to Do!

  1. Kids and wallpaper. We set ours to removing a papered border in their rooms. My son was finished in 30 minutes. Channeling the destructive energy is awesome!

  2. There was Hurricane Irene coupla decades back that hit Miami pretty hard. “Breezed ” through another year without one this year. 2005 Wilma and Katrina hit us back to back about 10 days apart. Lotta trees fell that would have withstood wind but ground was so soaked with month of rain they tipped over. In 1994 Andrew not too bad this part of Miami Dade but no power for 10 days.

  3. Pingback: Boy, I Have a Lot of Catching Up to Do! | Kids say :

Leave a Reply

