Tis the Season for Irish Coffee

I plan on enjoying one of my favorite seasonal adult beverages this evening, and perhaps this weekend too — Irish Coffee.

While its origin is in dispute, many believe Irish Coffee was invented by a chef at the airport in Shannon, in the west of Ireland, during the 1940’s. Legend has it that he added whiskey to coffee on a cold, wet evening to warm some American passengers who had arrived after a difficult flight. One of the American passengers recreated it stateside at a California bar, and the rest, as they say, is history.

This is how I prepare my version:

Necessary ingredients:

1 stemmed Irish Coffee glass
1 Tbsp of Brown Sugar
1 oz shot (or more) of Jamesons Irish Whiskey
1/4 cup heavy whipping cream
1 cup of strong coffee

Preparation:

Step 1: The Cream — I whip the cream by hand, and never use the stuff from the can! The trick is to whip the cream just enough, but not too much. Ideally, it should stick to the spoon, but not be so stiff that it stands on its own. (My uncle used to have me shake a pint of cream back and forth, with a slow even rhythm, so the cream would not take in too much air. This took a while.)

Step 2: Add the brown sugar and the whiskey to the glass.

Step 3: Pour the coffee, leaving about a 1/4 inch for the whipped cream.

Step 4: Gently dollop a generous spoonful of whipped cream on top of your coffee.

Voila! The perfect, or at least MY perfect Irish Coffee.

Slainte! (Cheers!)

About maryct70
Lucky mom of two little ones who keep both me and my husband on our toes. I work for an insurance company, based in Boston MA, and spend many hours on the train, as a consummate commuter. I am a die-hard Red Sox and New England Patriots fan. As a Boston College Alum, I also cheer for my BC Eagles, whether it be football, basketball or hockey.

2 Responses to Tis the Season for Irish Coffee

  1. Recipe Chefs says:

    Excellent recipe. Thanks for sharing this post. I really enjoy reading your blog. Feel free to check out our recipes.

    Recipe Chefs –

    http://recipechefs.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

