Reviving New Year’s Resolutions

Times Square NY
Times Square on New Years Eve – Photo Credit: Countdown Entertainment, LLC

I admit it. I’ve blown it.

My New Year’s Resolution was to gradually chip away at the 20 lbs or so, that have gravitated to my waist, hips and thighs over the past couple of years. It quickly went the way of many of resolutions: a fast descent to oblivion. According to a 2007 Franklin Covey survey, whether it be to save money, quit smoking or lose weight, over a third of us break our resolutions before the end of January.  Well, I guess I am in good company.

Why did I blow it? Lack of commitment? Too many distractions? The discouragement driven by an unrelenting New England winter? Maybe.

A winter for the dogs

This winter is for the dogs!

I thought my resolution was simple enough: to keep a journal of my daily eating habits, including my abundance of coffee and the occasional Hershey’s Nugget, as well as the tasty veggie soups and salads I proudly munch at lunch. My journal would force me to PAY ATTENTION to what I eat. Further, by publicly acknowledging this effort here, on this blog, I would use my pride as a weapon in this battle. Failing in public, for everyone to see, stings much more than does slipping up in private.

I started the year off with a BANG. It was great! I lost 2 pounds during the first two weeks. I diligently recorded my diet and calorie intake using my handy little “LoseIt!” iPhone app.

And then, I stopped. I stopped tracking my meals, keeping a journal, weighing myself. I haven’t gone on any binges or anything, no big Italian Subs, or chocolate cream pie. I just stopped paying attention.

However, the beauty of New Years Resolutions is that you don’t have to be waiting for the ball to drop on Times Square to re-invoke it. No time like the present!  So here I go. Again.

I hereby resolve to put myself on the path to healthy living by doing a few simple things. I will keep track of what I eat. I will start to step outside of the office for a walk at lunch. I will pay attention. By doing this, I will begin to make progress on this very Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Time-bound (SMART) goal: to lose 1 pound per week. That’s it. One pound, not two, not five. Just one pound each week.

New Years Resolution: Round 2. Here I come!

About maryct70
Lucky mom of two little ones who keep both me and my husband on our toes. I work for an insurance company, based in Boston MA, and spend many hours on the train, as a consummate commuter. I am a die-hard Red Sox and New England Patriots fan. As a Boston College Alum, I also cheer for my BC Eagles, whether it be football, basketball or hockey.

3 Responses to Reviving New Year’s Resolutions

  1. GeeWhizKid says:

    That’s the way to get back to it! Look also for direct supporters and indirect supporters. The first type are ones who join you in daily tactics (spouse and coworkers who eat with you). The second type are ones who aren’t physically able to, but virtually support your efforts (such as readers of your blog).

    I too use the LoseIt app and share my green/red charts and daily food log each week with my personal trainer at the gym. That keeps me on it daily.

    Lastly, write your future self an email encouraging yourself. http://www.futureme.org/

    • maryct70 says:

      Thanks for the words of encouragement!
      Thinking in terms of weekly goals really works well for me too. If you talk off the wagon one week, it’s a bit easier knowing you get a fresh start the next week.
      The email to my future self is a great idea too!

  2. †...Bơ...† says:

    I have read this article. Is actually very good. I can learn many things about your country. I liked the first picture. It is very nice. I’m not fluent in foreign languages. I have to use google can understand all your post. Your post made me think about many things such as food, money, or … It is. Thank you much.

Leave a Reply

