So Far So Good

SMART Goals:
Specific
Measurable
Attainable
Relevant
Timely

So I have to say, so far so good. Last week I set two separate SMART goals for myself for 2011.  First, was to get back on track with my weight loss goals by simply keeping track of what I eat. By just paying attention, I think I can lose a pound a week. Second, I set a goal to post to my blog at least once a week, in the spirit of WordPress’ weekly post challenge.

So far, I am happy to say that I am making progress!

First, I am on my way to being fully engaged in my health. I’ve kept a private of everything I’ve eaten over the past week (including the brownies yesterday, and the dinosaur birthday cake over the weekend). It’s hard to be in denial about what you eat when you keep a journal. So, even though I had a brownie or two, and a slice of cake, I probably had smaller portions of all of it.  I’ve also paid attention to my level of exercise. I haven’t started a new exercise regimen, but I have taken into consideration what I need to do to burn off those that birthday cake.

I met my goal for the first week. I lost a pound. Hopefully, I will do it again next week.

Second, I think my post a week goal has morphed into something that might turn into a happy endeavor. I could easily say that I met this writing goal by simply updating you on my weight loss project, and killed two birds with one stone.  But I did more than that.

I’ve launched a new separate blog. In that blog, I’ve decided to blog about my experiences as a non-native resident of Rhode Island. I’ve lived here for some time now, and am constantly surprised by the geographic and cultural diversity of the smallest state in the Union. My plan is to offer periodic posts about the places we eat, the sights we see, and things our family does in Little Rhody. I started the blog this week, and have just two posts to date, but feel free to check it out! My Life in RI

So far in 2011, I am pretty happy with my SMART goal progress. I’ve kept my goals Specific, Measurable, Attainable, Relevant and Timely. And, by making it all so public, I’ve put a lot of pressure on myself keep my eye on the ball. I just hope I don’t drop the ball in Week 2!

One thought on “So Far So Good

Leave a Reply

